Coincidence?

When I was in about second year university, I was at UBC, living in rez, eating instant noodles and “lap cherng” rice nearly daily. (That’s in addition to what I’d get from my meal plan.) (Can you say Freshmen 15? But I digress…) For fibre my dormmates and I dug into canned corn niblets. I was young (shrug). Then one day, I had a massive stomach ache following a delicious helping of corn. It was pressure building in my stomach to the point where breathing was hard to do and no position offered any relief. The gas wasn’t coming out either way. It HURT. But I got over it.

Until it happened again.
And again.
And again.
And I started to think maybe I shouldn’t eat corn anymore.

I discovered I started having the same reaction to broccoli, cauliflower, brussel sprouts, asparagus, turnips, gai lan and peppers…to name a few. So avoided those as well….sticking to light leafy greens and other Asian veggie varieties. And I stuck to this for the next decade.

Until….I was recently diagnosed with a certain condition…where, according to a natural health treatment book, I should be eating more broccoli, cauliflower, brussel sprouts and turnips to naturally help control things.

Coincidence??

One response

  1. Pingback: Trying I Am « Life of HeArt

Leave a Reply

