Burnt!

Graaah!

I started to reheat some yummy pork bone Chinese soup on the stove and thought I’d make a “quick” call regarding a refund. There was a nice automated voice counting down the minutes I’d have to wait…and where I was in the queue, there were 29 minutes left. This is fine, I thought, lots of water in the soup should be able to simmer for 29 minutes.

28 minutes remaining in the queue
24 minutes remaining in the queue
14 minutes remaining in the queue
1 minute remaining in the queue

I’m getting ready to speak…but then I hear…

1 minute remaining in the queue
1 minute remaining in the queue
1 minute remaining in the queue

I start smelling the soup wafting upstairs and I wonder if I should run down and turn the stove off. But what if someone answers the phone? (I don’t have wireless hand sets to carry around.) So I wait….

1 minute remaining in the queue
1 minute remaining in the queue

and another 10 “1 minutes” later I finally get Emily, a very nice agent, on the line. The refund is approved. I’m getting credit back. Great. I get off the phone, run downstairs….

….to a sizzling pot that’s been boiled DRY.

My beautiful pork bone soup!! Dry!!
I try to add water to it….but it just tastes like BURNT pork bone soup. *tear*

I so sad.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

