Discouraged

I’m sad to share that my blood work for the month of May was rather discouraging….

TSH = <0.03   (normal is 0.2-4.0)

T3 = 8.0        (normal is 3.5-6.5)

T4 = 26.2      (normal is 9-23)

I’m hyperthyroid again….and doing a little worse than at the start of the year…though not as bad as when I was first diagnosed. I’m attributing this slide to the Holy Land tour – where I ate whatever I wanted and was lacking in sleep. AND where I soaked in the Dead Sea that has TEN TIMES more salinity (and maybe iodine as well) than the ocean. But I’m sure it’s also account my diet negligance starting in April. I was quite hypothyroid then and thought I could “help” stimulate my thyroid….well, it doesn’t need much help apparently.

Time to clamp down on the diet again…and request that Skywalker be my Enforcer again as well. Let me tell you he is strict! Pouty lips, puppy dog eyes, whining, crying and foot stomping are of no use…yes I’ve tried it all. =)

Honestly though…sometimes I wonder if it’s better to just do the radioactive iodine so I don’t have to worry about fluctuating (just have to take synthetic hormones the rest of my life)…but something in me tells me to fight it naturally. DEFY those doctors!!!! Not sure if that’s just my stubborness. =P So please pray for wisdom to know what to do! Also, please pray for healing…God can do it. I know He can. Just…will He? Such are the words of a discouraged person.

Sigh.

But I received this verse from one of my tourmates (Thank you!)…and I will hold onto this:

Therefore, since we have a great high priest who has gone through the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold firmly to the faith we profess.  For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are—yet was without sin.  Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.

-Hebrews 4:14-16

 

One response

  1. Pingback: I Believe… | Life of HeArt

Leave a Reply

