Lost Time

I think about the years I spent just passing through
 I'd like to have the time I lost and give it back to you
 But you just smile and take my hand
 You've been there you understand
 It's all part of a grander plan that is coming true

~ Bless the Broken Road, Rascal Flatts

We chose this song for the registry signing and Sand Pouring segment of our wedding ceremony. It was hard to find something that wasn’t over-used, cliche, or overly romantic. Our relationship wasn’t really “romantic”. First it was nearly all long distance so for a “date” we’d have dinner together via webcam. And second, we’re both very practical so the relationship was more “real”. For example, when visiting each other we’d do more everyday life things like buy groceries together…not that we didn’t do fancy dinners and romantic excursions at all, just far less than we hear about from dating friends.

We also had a short courtship in our culture’s eyes…dated a mere 8 months before getting engaged, then another 9 months before getting married. We were both in our early 30’s when we married….and at this age, you know what you’re looking for so when you see it, you act on it. Honestly though, I do wish we could have taken the wandering, wilderness years to give to being with one another instead. Sometimes I look at couples who married in their mid-twenties with a little bit of wistful envy.

Lucky them, they found each other earlier. They can enjoy a few years of the DINK (double income no kids) life and not feel biologically rushed about having children.

I think of how we’ve actually been to two of our mutual friends weddings over the years but never met…and I wonder. But I know this timing is part of God’s plan. Frankly, we both know if we did meet earlier, Skywalker wouldn’t be the man I admire and respect and I wouldn’t be the woman he fell in love with. A lot of gut-wrenching, heart-breaking and faith-shifting things happened in both our lives through our mid-late twenties. There were lessons to learn, hearts to mend and spirits to strengthen. So, the time it took for us to get here was necessary. I thank God for it!

But sometimes………….I still wish.

6 responses

  1. Truly treasure what you have. There are so many relationships out there I’ve heard of where the couple has been together for 5+ years. They get married and are divorced a year later.
    And frankly, don’t worry too much about the child crunch…believe me. Once they arrive there is no turning back!

    Its a load of fun, but in all honesty, sometimes I wish I’d waited until my thirties for babies. Oh well. I wouldn’t trade Olivia for the world!

    • Thanks Emgy…we are definitely treasuring the time we have!
      Baby time crunch…well timing’s in God’s hand. Learning to surrender. =)

  2. I was actually reminincing something similar yet opposite with a friend, about how I wished I met my spouse later in life and didn’t get married so early (in my early twenties). We still had a lot of maturing to do and I felt I missed out on some personal exploration time and some “single-life” experiences suching buying and living in my own pad, having lots of time to hang out with girlfriends, travelling to places my spouse has no interest in etc. There’s also that guilt when one partner spends money on larger purchases that only appeals to him or herself. I’m with you that marriage in the mid (or I’d say even late twenties) seems more ideal. I’m just glad we didn’t rush into having kids early as well so we’ve been able to enjoy a few years of leisure, independence and good spending power, but yes, that biological clock is starting to tick louder and louder now…

Leave a Reply

