Clutter = Stress

image

I had a mini personal revelation: clutter = stress

Generally, I’m not a messy person. Cupboards are organized. The bed is made. The closet is sorted and functional. I fold socks AND underwear and place them in their respective drawers according to category. Everyday comfort wear in the front left. Fun or “specialty” ones in the front right. Last-resort-because-I-need-to-do-laundry ones in the back. Yes this applies to both socks and underwear.

But attempts to organize my desk just doesn’t seem to take. There are all sorts of things I plan to put into folders/boxes/drawers/files…eventually. It’s been over a year since I’ve had my desk and this filing thing still hasn’t happened. I have little piles and stacks of paper everywhere.

A simple part of Graves Disease treatment is to minimize sources of unecessary stress…and this would definitely be unnecessary stress. I just have to look at my desk and feel this low-grade unease spread across my chest. I shared this realization with Skywalker as well as the realization that my cheapness frugal-ness perpetuates this low grade stress. I don’t want to spend the money on filing systems and storage boxes and a desk with drawers when I could be spending it on better things like travel or food. But a nice desk is so pretty! 

Skywalker affirmed that I need to do what I need to do to reduce unnecessary stress. If that means getting a few desk organizing tools then just do it! Well then…don’t have to tell me twice! Heading to Ikea tonight! ……or maybe tomorrow.

Did I mention I’m a procrastinator?

Leave a Reply

