Soon and Very Soon

This past weekend Skywalker and I checked out First Baptist Church in downtown Vancouver to hear Darrell Johnson speak. He has the gift of bringing scripture to life. Not in the “Here’s the passage, this is what it means, and these are three applications you can take home” sense…rather somehow, the Word, the Living Word, is brought to life. From the black text on white paper to the multicolor, living, breathing Word that soaks into and feeds my being. Somehow.

The passage was Revelations 21-22 which speaks to the second coming of Christ…and this lines up nicely with the supposed “end of the world/end of an era” event that is deemed to happen Friday Dec 21 2012. I will not be able to do the sermon justice or cover it all but you can listen to it here.

To start, Jesus says that no one but the Father knows the day that He is returning (the end of the world)…so unless someone knows more than Jesus, any prediction as to what the “end” date will be can be safely concluded as being wrong. History has proven this 100% of the time. That said, Jesus did repeat three times (repetition is significant in scripture) “I am coming soon!” (22:7, 12, 20) He is continually coming and is always near, though veiled from us. He’s so near that when the day comes, He only needs to tear away the veil and be right before our eyes. And we shall SEE HIS FACE! (22:4) Like the groom looking into the face of his bride, He will remove the veil from His bride the Church, and we shall see His face.         Intimate. Glorious. Wow.

For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known. (1 Cor 13:12)

To see the face of God….and live! And we shall see the faces of those whose journeys have impacted our faith. Abraham. King David. Mary. Paul. Brother Lawrence. C.S. Lewis. The faces of loved ones. My Grandpa.        My brother.       Oh how I want to see his face again. For the first time in five years, I am looking forward to when I’ll see my brother again instead of looking back to when I saw him last. I’m looking forward to where there will be no more tears. No more death or mourning or crying or pain. (21:3-4) What hope for those who’ve lost someone in the Lord! What joy!

As more news pours in about young lives being taken, in the States, in China, in Afghanistan, the more I desire Christ to reveal Himself. Not so that I can escape the pain of this world…but so everything can be made right in the world again. For tears to be wiped away and for the sting of death to cease.

He who testifies to these things says, “Yes, I am coming soon.
Amen. Come, Lord Jesus.
The grace of the Lord Jesus be with God’s people. Amen. (Revelations 22:20-21)

Do you look forward to Jesus’ return?

Leave a Reply

