Told you it’s normal

December results….

TSH = 3.5    (normal is 0.2-4.0)

T4    = 15.3    (normal is 10.5-20.0)

STILL normal!! Yay!

There are days when I can hear my heart beating behind my ear…and then I start to get nervous that I’m sliding into hyperthyroid territory again. Add to that my resting heart rate has crept up to about 80 bpm…which is higher than I like it to be. The more I think about it, the more I feel stressed about it. So what I’m trying to do is get a grip on my thoughts to trust in God that He’s taking care of this…and to NOT stress out!

Easier said than done. But really happy to see the normal results.

I didn’t post any New Year’s resolutions this year because I really don’t have any; however you can say I’ve set some broad goals related to health for this and every year. And those are:

  1. Find proper rest…firstmost rest in God such that my faith isn’t performance or achievement driven. This is the tendency I’d say, for many Asians.
  2. Developing a proper diet…now that I know what vegetables naturally suppress my thyroid and what naturally stimulates it, I need to make it a regular part of my diet. I’ve also learned some HUGE benefits of eating less meat, so I’m working towards being half vegetarian. =)
  3. Stay active and creative…stress is a part of life, but creativity and activity is a positive outlet for that stress. I have to be mindful and intentional about this. Oh and disciplined. Which I’m not. Sigh.

Back to the thyroid….the next six months are when I have the highest chance of relapsing into hyperthyroidism, at which point the doctor will strongly suggest I get the RAI done. Until I’ve gone two years (I think) with no further occurences, I won’t be considered in remission. So…really praying to remain healthy.

6 responses

  1. Yah! Good to hear the positive results. Totally agree with you about performance/achievement driven faith thing with regards to asians.
    I’m curious to know– what are some of the benefits you’ve discovered from less eating meat? I only know about meats being high in saturated fat, but not sure what else.

  2. I’m so glad to hear your still normal!! Praise to God!
    The fact that you are able to maintain your own health through changes in your lifestyle is amazing. Its a tough feat! We will keep praying for you.

Leave a Reply

