Typealzed

(Image not mine)

I recently came across the Typealze.com link from Spirativity. Very interesting! You enter your blog address and then the Typealyzer analyzes your blog content to determine your Myers-Briggs personality type.

This blog reveals I am an:

ISTP – The Mechanic

The independent and problem-solving type. They are especially attuned to the demands of the moment and are highly skilled at seeing and fixing what needs to be fixed, making them ideally suited for engineering. They generally prefer to think things out for themselves and often avoid inter-personal conflicts. This is fairly true though if there is conflict I’m not one to shy away from getting to the root of it and trying to reach a resolution.
The Mechanics enjoy working together with other independent and highly skilled people and often seek out fun and action both in their work and personal life. Also true.
ISTPs endure reasonable impositions without complaint — but if their “territory” is encroached upon, eroded, or violated, their quiet, easy-going nature is quickly abandoned in favor of stubborn and staunch defense of what they view as rightfully theirs. I would say if my “territory” was encroached upon without a valid reason, then I get prickly. But if it’s pointed out reasonably why “my territory” actually isn’t…then I can let it go.
Common satisfying careers: policemen or firefighters and work that involve adventure and risk such as in driving race cars, skydiving, motorcycling and diving. Uh…no thanks. I wouldn’t do any of that except maybe diving. I do more risk calculation and mitigation in real life.
Notable ISTPs: Donald Rumsfeld, Michael Jordan, Steve Jobs, Woody Allen, Clint Eastwood, Scarlett Johansson, Kyudo Nakagawa, Bruce Lee, Snoop Dogg, Ellen Page, Erwin Rommel, James Bond and Boba Fett. Yeah can’t say I feel I relate to any of these people.

I then took a quick MB test to see what I actually am, though, given that this was a ‘quick’ personality test it’s possible the analysis is slightly off. It could also be this blog is my more creative side being expressed. Apparently I am an INTJ which is a strong rationalizer….and I find the description to be more true of regular myself. Interestingly it says I’m only slightly more introvert than extrovert. I’ve described myself as an introvert with extrovert blood so this perhaps confirms it. It’s totally true I assess everything with “but does it work?” because if not, then do something else obviously! It’s also true that I like to see what might be and ask “why not?” and perhaps that trait lends itself to why I believe one of my Spiritual Gifts is Faith.

I love this line….INTJ’s may “find it useful to learn to simulate some degree of surface conformism in order to mask their inherent unconventionality.” Haha!! Yes…I have found myself to be rather unconventional and so I find myself trying to learn how people are “supposed” to be and emulate where reasonable.

This description of INTJ’s in relationships is also true about me:

Probably the strongest INTJ assets in the interpersonal area are their intuitive abilities and their willingness to “work at” a relationship.  Although as Ts they do not always have the kind of natural empathy that many Fs do, the Intuitive function can often act as a good substitute by synthesizing the probable meanings behind such things as tone of voice, turn of phrase, and facial expression.  This ability can then be honed and directed by consistent, repeated efforts to understand and support those they care about, and those relationships which ultimately do become established with an INTJ tend to be characterized by their robustness, stability, and good communications.

Skywalker read it and said I’m like the Data on Star Trek. Sigh. It’s a little trippy reading an analysis of your own personality. Now I don’t know if I’ll act more like the description because I’ve read it or if I’ll just be more aware because I’ve read it. Regardless, I think it’s wonderful to note that every personality reflects the incredibly diverse image of God in whom we were created.

Happily I note that Jane Austen, C.S. Lewis, Michelle Obama, John F. Kennedy, Gandalf and Mr. Darcy are fellow INTJ’s; and not so happily, Lance Armstrong, Hannibal Lector and Professor Moriarty. I guess my personality gone wrong is psychopathic. Doh.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: I, robot…sometimes | Life of HeArt

Leave a Reply

