Sin or is it?

(Image not mine)Me? Sin? Well, that sounds a little harsh. And kinda hurts my feelings. And my self-esteem. And it makes me feel guilty….didn’t someone say guilt is a bad thing? Yeah. I know I probably shouldn’t have done that…I couldn’t help myself. It’s just a mistake. But I’m not a bad person!

We tiptoe around sin. We find gracious ways of describing sin so that it’s not as severe as sin….or politically correct ways of justifying why that “sin” is actually acceptable as part of normal human life.

“This is who I am, I can’t help it”
“We make mistakes, we don’t sin”
“To err is human”

Actually, God says “For ALL have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God” and that our “righteousness is like filthy rags“. Whether we call wrath “anger management issues” or selfishness “self care” or lust “passionate attraction”…it’s sin. Even our “good deeds” are tainted by selfish motives. Falling short of God’s perfect standard in our words, actions or thoughts is the definition of sin. Recognizing it for what it is gives us a healthier view of ourselves as an inflated self-esteem is as bad as a deflated one. Recognizing sin in our lives and calling it out also puts us on the path to be free from its grip in our lives as we submit to God’s plan of transforming us into His likeness. It doesn’t mean you won’t ever sin again, but you are no longer powerless against it. You now have choice.

I am loved by God. I sin. I confess. I am forgiven. I am empowered to act differently.

2 responses

  1. Yes, I think the moment we really start taking sin seriously is a huge moment. I remember it well in my own life. It’s humbling and hard to do. But also beautiful, because then God can really get in there and do what He does best–refine us and purify us and draw us closer to Him. Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God. 🙂

Leave a Reply

