Christ’s resurrection: What difference has it made?

(Image not mine)

Easter week is over. We remembered Christ’s suffering through the stations of the cross. We celebrated the empty tomb. And then we were asked:

What difference does Christ’s resurrection make in your life?

A simple question. A hefty question.
And I’m still kind of mulling over the answer.

Sunday school answers scream out from the back of my head,

“Sin is paid for”
“Death is conquered”
“I have eternal life”
“I’ve been redeemed”

Yes yes….it’s true. But what DIFFERENCE does it make in MY life? How am I personally impacted by this? How am I living differently because of the risen Christ? Certainly if He didn’t rise…we wouldn’t be celebrating Easter all around the globe. We wouldn’t be praying to a man who died…and stayed dead. What power is there in that? So what is it then….what is it?

For me, two emotions float to the surface: Hope. Relief.
Hope because that power He has to overcome death is available to me. I don’t fully know how to access this power most of the time, but knowing I CAN access it gives me a standing chance to do something other than what my sinful impulses tell me to do. Those dead, wasted things in my life has a chance of new life through Christ too…like how God transformed my brokenness into something good.
And Relief because I don’t have to save myself. I can’t. The more I know myself, the more I realize I can’t save myself. So for Jesus to have paid my penalty and to rise again, I can throw my broken self at Him and be confident He can, and will, fix restore me.

But what difference does it make in how I live my life?
Still mulling on this….

How about you? What difference does Christ’s resurrection make in your life?

One response

  1. Pingback: Christ’s resurrection: What difference has it made? Part 2 | Life of HeArt

Leave a Reply

