How We Met…Part 6

I gave in an inch…and now we’re emailing. Every. Single. Day.

It was great! Back in the day people had collections of letters written to each other….maybe I’ll print out our old emails and bind it as a book for our future generations to read/gag/barf over. Lovely.

We discussed tons of topics so this list isn’t exhaustive:

  • What are you passionate about?
  • Any regrets in life?
  • How did you come to have a personal relationship with God?
  • Have have you grown in your faith?
  • Where have you traveled or want to travel to?
  • What was your first job and jobs since?
  • How did you decide on the degree you eventually graduated with?
  • Did you ever have a crisis of faith and how did you get through it?
  • What are your pet peeves?
  • What’s your favorite childhood memory?

And the relationship questions….without expressing interest of course:
(Though ANYONE would know if you’re asking these questions you’re actually interested.)

  • What do you look for in a significant other?
  • What are your deal breakers?
  • What are non-negotiables?
  • Why didn’t it work out with your previous relationship?

We had started our daily emails in early September so by the end of that month I had a pretty good idea what kind of person Skywalker was. And I liked what I was reading…but is it too good to be true? In catching up with a girl friend about this development with Skywalker, she told me she was actually very good friends with his older sister! She had heard only good things about him. And she also vouched for their family. So that took care of that.

Contrast this with Skywalker who didn’t have anyone to vouch for me. What a brave and perservering man of FAITH. =)

While all the emailing was great, I was starting to get concerned that this wasn’t developing into something deeper and I might have a repeat false start. (I know I know, I wasn’t giving him much to work with either.) I decided that if he doesn’t define things by Thanksgiving then I was going to close shop.

But then I get an email that said, “I’m planning to visit my brother for Thanksgiving. Are you in town? We should meet up.

Oh yes….yes I was in town. He would arrive Friday night and have dinner with his brother and SIL, so we made plans to have lunch on Saturday. “Can I call it a date?” I asked. “Um…sure,” he said.

And so we wait for Thanksgiving.

(Ok I said I might be done in two installments last time…but there’s really going to need to be three more after this one. Sorry. Thanks for perservering as well! ha ha.)

Part 1Part 2Part 3Part 4Part 5 – Part 6 – Part 7Part 8Part 9Part 10

10 responses

  1. Pingback: How We Met…Part 7 | Life of HeArt

  2. Pingback: How We Met…Part 1 | Life of HeArt

  3. Pingback: How We Met…Part 2 | Life of HeArt

  4. Pingback: How We Met…Part 3 | Life of HeArt

  5. Pingback: How We Met…Part 4 | Life of HeArt

  6. Pingback: How We Met…Part 5 | Life of HeArt

  7. Pingback: How We Met…Part 8 | Life of HeArt

  8. Pingback: How We Met…Part 9 | Life of HeArt

  9. Pingback: How We Met…The DTR (Finally!) | Life of HeArt

  10. Pingback: The “How We Met” Series | Life of HeArt

Leave a Reply

