Week 26: Poke poke poke

(Image not mine)

It’s official…I have gestational diabetes…and it’s bad enough that I need insulin. =(

Some background info: Gestational Diabetes occurs when the placenta produces some hormones/chemicals that end up causing the mother’s body to become resistant to her own insulin. As blood sugars start to rise, her pancreas tries to make MORE insulin to break down the sugars. As the baby and placenta grows into the third trimester, more hormones/chemicals are produced, making her body even more resistant to insulin. They don’t know why it happens to some women and not to others; about 18% of pregnant women are affected. Of that, 7% can’t keep up with natural insulin production so extra insulin from outside sources is needed. That’s my case.

It was nearing the end of 2013 when sugar started showing up in my urine tests. That lead to me taking the glucose test at Week 23 and soundly failing it. I received the diagnosis Jan 2 and was referred to the gestational diabetes clinic right away. Diet restrictions were given at Week 24, and I was happy to note my regular diet already met the guidelines I was told to follow. Thankfully, I’m also not a big carb or sweets eater. But, I do have to watch out for those big bowls of noodle soups I like. Added to my regiment was the daily finger pokes to test blood sugar. Before meals, blood sugar should be under 5.0 and after meals, it should be under 7.0.

I hate getting my fingers poked. (Reminds me of when I stapled my fingers in younger years. Twice.) For the first week, my heart sank a little more every time my before-meal sugar level was over 5.0. Even after sleeping all night my blood sugar was too high. Actually…it was too high before every meal. All my after-meal levels were normal. My pancreas couldn’t make enough insulin for the minimum carb diet I was on. At Week 25, the endocrinologist, nurses and dietitian all told me it doesn’t look like diet or exercise will make much difference in my case…I will need insulin.

I was pretty bummed.

But they all reassured me that it’s nothing I did wrong and there isn’t anything I could’ve done differently to prevent this. Thankfully this is a very well manageable condition and I can totally have a healthy pregnancy. So, even if I have to jab needles at myself through the day, Baby will be healthy. That’s the main thing.

The scary statistic is that 50% of women who get gestational diabetes will become Type-2 diabetic in about ten years. I do NOT want that to be my life…..50% chance is a very big number. I’m reminded and am grasping onto God in this….He is bigger than any statistic. He is Healer and Restorer. He was faithful as I wrestled with Graves Disease (over one year medication free now!) and He will be faithful in this too. Walking with Him is about learning to surrender and trust in HIM and not in anything of the world. As counter intuitive as that journey is sometimes, I’m determined to do this. Trust. So help me God.

7 responses

  1. As it turn, I too have gestational diabetes =( Just found out today so your post is most timely and relevant. I’m a bit shocked as I’ve never had any health issues before and I thought I had a relatively balanced/healthy diet and lifestyle…although, I’ve noticed more sugar cravings since becoming pregnant. I have my first diabetes consultation this week and also cling onto knowledge that God is the Healer and Restorer. It sucks but it’s somewhat comforting to know I’m not alone…

    • I’m sorry to hear you have it too!! Though…comforting to know I’m not alone either. ha ha. We’re not alone!! Hope you don’t have to get insulin!!

    • And really want to reiterate that just being Asian puts us at higher risk of GD so for us, it’s not even about the diet or lifestyle sometimes. Main thing is that our babies stay healthy and won’t have the high blood sugar passed from us. =)

  2. At least its temporary too. GD isn’t too too bad. I’ve never had it, but a good friend of mine has it every pregnancy. The best part is that baby is healthy and its only temporary. =)

  3. Pingback: Needle Poking Tips | Life of HeArt

  4. Pingback: Battle with Sugar | Life of HeArt

Leave a Reply

