Half Full or Empty, it’s still only half

(Image not mine)

Our days may come to seventy years,
or eighty, if our strength endures;
yet the best of them are but trouble and sorrow,
for they quickly pass, and we fly away.
If only we knew the power of your anger!
Your wrath is as great as the fear that is your due.
Teach us to number our days,
that we may gain a heart of wisdom.

Psalm 90:10-12 NIV

I was having a philosophical conversation with Skywalker on the expectations we have for our lives. Some imagine life turning out a certain way and are dragged down when they can’t seem to get a break. Some believe life/fate/higher powers that be just have it out for them, destined to forever be held down. I believe life is meant to be enjoyed but there will always be times of trial and sorrow and struggle.

From the passage above, the best of our years are but trouble and sorrow. Basically, the majority of our life isn’t going to be so dreamy….over 50% of it.  And that sets my expectations for how life will turn out. Life in this fallen and broken world will never be totally full. Whether we see the glass half full or half empty, we only get half a glass. So for me, whatever set back or tragedy or wrench thrown in will be attributed to the empty half of my glass….and I pray it will not prevent me from recognizing and enjoying or making the most of every drop of the full half of my glass. Our days are numbered…yes Lord help me live it wisely and fully.

One response

  1. I was just having a discussion about this exact topic today: glass half full or half empty. I said it isn’t about being an optimist or a pessimist. We need to be real and authentic. There is half a glass. Take it as it is.

    I like how you take it a step further and say loss can be the empty piece and the rest will hopefully be what we enjoy. I concur!!!

    Phileo much friend

    PS…I went to mls to look at apartments in Vancouver….just for fun. Expensive………

Leave a Reply

